Hunting

Image
Image
Two hunters in safety orange sit by a tree. One is taking aim at a deer.
Right to Use
Topic Category
Body

A successful hunting trip involves planning, scouting, and patience. Missouri offers a variety of hunting opportunities to hone your skills.

If you plan to hunt with a firearm, you will need to complete a hunter education course before you can buy a permit. If you plan to bow hunt, MDC offers optional bow hunter education. 

Events

Find events near you.
Registration period: September 23 - October 25
Date: Saturday, October 1, 2022 11:00 am - Sunday, October 30, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: Lake City Shooting Range
The Lake City Shooting Range wants to help you sight in your hunting rifle...for FREE! The instructors will help you ready to hunt, fine-tune your scope or improve on your shooting skills. If you are preparing for a hunt, bring the rifle and ammunition you plan to use during the hunt. THIS CLASS IS BY APPOINTMENT ONLY! Please call 816-249-3194 to make an appointment.
Registration period: September 20 - October 4
Date: Wednesday, October 5, 2022 9:00 am - Wednesday, October 5, 2022 12:30 pm
Location: Rolla Shooting Club

Have you always wanted to firearm hunt on your own? First you need to get certified! Join us at Rolla Shooting Club for a Hunter Education skills session on October 5, 2022 at 9 am. Private event for local homeschool group.

Participants must be 11 years old and have completed the knowledge portion of the course prior to attending this skills session. This is done either by completing the online version (for a fee), or filling out the student manual chapter review questions and bringing the booklet to class for instructor review (no charge). Student manuals are available at the Rolla MDC Office (12655 State Route Y, Rolla, MO) or from the MDC website (https://mdc.mo.gov/hunting-trapping/hunter-education/hunter-ed-study-guide-order-form). Students under 16 are required to show proof of age (i.e. Birth certificate; Passport; or photo ID that displays a birthdate) when checking in.

After successfully completing the skills session and passing a 35-question, multiple-choice final with a score of 80 percent or better, you will receive a temporary certificate so you can purchase a permit and hunt immediately. Please self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending the class, and stay home if you are exhibiting symptoms.
Registration period: August 29 - October 5
Date: Thursday, October 6, 2022 6:00 pm - Thursday, October 6, 2022 10:00 pm
Location: Laclede Electric Cooperative

This is a public hunter education skills session in Laclede County. Participants must register prior to 10/6/2022. All registered participants must show proof upon entering the skill session.

1) That they have completed the online study Hunter Ed Study Guide Order Form | Missouri Department of Conservation (mo.gov)

2) Present a Missouri Hunter Education student book with all the chapter review questions in the back completed.

Participants will NOT be able to complete the skills session or take the exam and receive their certification without one of the above verifications that they have completed the classroom/book portion. Missouri Hunter Education student books and study guides are availible at https://mdc.mo.gov/hunting-trapping/hunter-education/hunter-ed-study-guide-order-form . In addition, the Missouri Hunter Education student books can be picked up at the MDC Southwest Regional in Springfield or Shoal Creek Conservation Area in Joplin. Participants must be a minimum of 11 years of age on 10/6/2022.
Registration period: September 6 - October 7
Date: Saturday, October 8, 2022 8:30 am - Saturday, October 8, 2022 11:30 am
Location: Andy Dalton Shooting Range

Predator hunting can be done at times of the year when other hunting seasons are closed. This introductory program will cover the basics of predator hunting and trapping. We will cover equipment needed, set-ups, and calling. Both basic as well as advanced tactics will be covered.

Registration period: September 8 - October 7
Date: Saturday, October 8, 2022 10:00 am - Saturday, October 8, 2022 11:30 am
Location: Burr Oak Woods Conservation Nature Center
Archery and bow hunting continue to grow in popularity! During this beginner’s archery class, we will teach and practice the basics and help you perfect your stance to shoot more consistently and accurately. All equipment is provided.
Registration period: August 17 - October 10
Date: Tuesday, October 11, 2022 5:30 pm - Tuesday, October 11, 2022 7:00 pm
Location: Parma Woods Shooting Range
The crossbow is not a new technology, but it is a very effective hunting tool that can now be utilized by nearly anyone who would like to give crossbow hunting a try. This class is designed to complement the growing trend of crossbow use. Our instructors will provide some basic safety instruction, crossbow facts, and give everyone a chance to try a crossbow.
Registration period: September 20 - October 12
Date: Wednesday, October 12, 2022 5:30 pm - Wednesday, October 12, 2022 9:30 pm
Location: Salem Community Center at the Armory

Have you always wanted to firearm hunt on your own? First you need to get certified! Join us at Salem Community Center at the Armory for a Hunter Education skills session on October 12, 2022 at 5:30 pm.

Participants must be 11 years old and have completed the knowledge portion of the course prior to attending this skills session. This is done either by completing the online version (for a fee), or filling out the student manual chapter review questions and bringing the booklet to class for instructor review (no charge). Student manuals are available at the Indian Trail Archery & Gun (1521 MO-19, Salem, MO 65560) or from the MDC website (https://mdc.mo.gov/hunting-trapping/hunter-education/hunter-ed-study-guide-order-form). Students under 16 are required to show proof of age (i.e. Birth certificate; Passport; or photo ID that displays a birthdate) when checking in.

After successfully completing the skills session and passing a 35-question, multiple-choice final with a score of 80 percent or better, you will receive a temporary certificate so you can purchase a permit and hunt immediately. Please self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending the class, and stay home if you are exhibiting symptoms.
Registration period: September 12 - October 9
Date: Wednesday, October 12, 2022 6:00 pm - Wednesday, October 12, 2022 10:00 pm
Location: Shoal Creek Conservation Education Center

This skills session will satisfy part two of the Missouri Hunter Education requirements. To enter the session, you must complete the knowledge portion and provide proof of completion by presenting either a qualifier certificate or a completed hunter education student manual the day of the event. All students must provide proof of identification and age. The final exam will be administered at the end of the skills session.

Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before the beginning of the class to complete registration; late arrivals will not be admitted so please arrive early. In the event of a cancellation, you will be contacted by email and/or phone. Note: Students 16 and older who have successfully completed the all-online Hunter Education course do not need to attend an in-person skills session.

COVID-19 continues to impact daily operations at all MDC facilities including hunter education classes. Protocols are now in place to provide safety for students and staff including:

• Only students seeking certification and staff are allowed in the classroom

• All staff are required to wear a facemask and practice social distancing

• All students are encouraged to wear a facemask and must practice social distancing

• All students will be asked to use hand sanitizer when arriving and prior to handling firearms

Everyone will be asked self-certification questions related to COVID-19. If you answer yes to any of the following self-certification questions, you should NOT attend.

• Do you, or a person you live with, have:

o A temperature of 100.4°F or higher, OR

o Two or more of the following: chills, new loss of taste or smell, or unexplained body aches, headache, or sore throat, OR

o One or more of the following: dry, non-productive cough (new onset or worsening of chronic cough), shortness of breath, or difficulty breathing?

• If you have traveled outside of Missouri, did you have contact with anyone known to have COVID-19 or visit an area with high incident of COVID-19?

• Have you come into contact with anyone who has been sick?

• In the last two weeks, did you care for or have close contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-19?

Please self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending the program and stay home if you are exhibiting symptoms.

We apologize for any inconvenience and are aware some people will have to travel farther than preferred to attend a skills session. Because of this, we encourage those 16 years or older to consider the online hunter education certification option which allows you to take the course online. There is a convenience fee of $19.95 for this online class. Please note all funds go to the web host and not MDC.

The knowledge portion requirement can easily be achieved by reading and completing the chapter review questions in the Missouri hunter education manual and bringing the completed manual with you to a skills session you have registered to attend. To receive a FREE manual, please request one online at https://huntfish.mdc.mo.gov/hunting-trapping/hunter-education-skills-training/hunter-ed-study-guide-order-form or call 417-895-6880, M-F, 8am to 5pm to have one mailed to you. An online knowledge course option is also available; however, there is a charge for taking this portion online.

All in-person classes are subject to cancelation or postponement due to COVID-19. So please plan to attend a session as soon as possible. If you have any questions, please contact the lead instructor listed for this session. Thank you.

15 students/COVID protocols

Registration period: September 6 - October 14
Date: Saturday, October 15, 2022 8:30 am - Saturday, October 15, 2022 12:30 pm
Location: Grace Community Church

This is a public Missouri Hunter Education Skills Session class, participants must be 11 years of age the day of the event. (10/15/2022) Participants attending the skills session must show proof they have completed the online self study guide or complete all the chapter review questions in the Missouri Hunter Education book. Bring the completed review questions to the event!

Online Study Guide Link:

https://mdc.mo.gov/hunting-trapping/hunter-education/hunter-ed-study-guide-order-form

Missouri Hunter Education booklets can be picked up at Shrock's Butchering 25 Wildlife Road, Buffalo Mo.
Registration period: September 6 - October 14
Date: Saturday, October 15, 2022 9:00 am - Saturday, October 15, 2022 10:30 am
Location: Online only

Ever wonder what people mean when they say their deer scored 170? Have you wanted to know if harvest was a trophy setting animal? Join us for this class to learn how to score your harvest and what animals can be scored. This class does not qualify you to become a scorer yourself, an official scorer must score your animal to be eligible for any record setting.

Registration period: September 6 - October 14
Date: Saturday, October 15, 2022 9:00 am - Saturday, October 15, 2022 10:30 am
Location: Andy Dalton Shooting Range

Ever wonder what people mean when they say their deer scored 170? Have you wanted to know if harvest was a trophy setting animal? Join us for this class to learn how to score your harvest and what animals can be scored. This class does not qualify you to become a scorer yourself, an official scorer must score your animal to be eligible for any record setting.

Registration period: October 1 - October 15
Date: Saturday, October 15, 2022 9:30 am - Saturday, October 15, 2022 11:30 am
Location: Runge Conservation Nature Center
Although this is not a hunter education course, this program goes over the best safety practices for youth and prepared them for hunting season. We will cover the commandments of firearm safety, methods for carrying a firearm, and tree stand safety. Registration required. Ages 6-10. NOTE: All participants must be accompanied by an adult.
Registration period: October 1 - October 15
Date: Saturday, October 15, 2022 1:30 pm - Saturday, October 15, 2022 4:30 pm
Location: Runge Conservation Nature Center

Ready to try deer hunting? This program will teach the basics of deer hunting including what to wear, how to scout for deer, hunting methods, safety, and regulations. Registration required. Ages 6+ (participants under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult).

Registration period: August 10 - October 20
Date: Thursday, October 20, 2022 6:30 pm - Thursday, October 20, 2022 8:30 pm
Location: Andy Dalton Shooting Range

This program is an introduction to wingshooting fundamentals, distance estimation, non-toxic shotshell ammunition and shotgun patterning. The goal is to help migratory and upland bird hunters improve their hunting skills with non-toxic shot. Bring your own shotgun with a minimum of 50 rounds of new steel ammunition in the gauge of your shotgun. Make sure all firearms are unloaded before arriving at the range. There should be no live ammunition, or uncased firearms inside the classroom. Please leave all firearms in the vehicle until the class is dismissed including all concealed carry handguns and magazines.

Registration period: September 11 - October 11
Date: Saturday, October 22, 2022 5:00 am - Saturday, October 22, 2022 12:00 pm
Location: August A Busch Shooting Range
This program and hunt is for youth, who has never hunted, that is interested in learning the skills needed to successfully hunt ducks. We will begin with a mandatory clinic on Tuesday, October 11 from 5-7 p.m. to discuss safety, firearms, clothing, hunting techniques, and details of the hunt. All participants for the hunt must attend the mandatory online clinic and be Hunter Education Certified to participate in the hunt on October 22.
Registration period: September 1 - October 21
Date: Saturday, October 22, 2022 8:00 am - Saturday, October 22, 2022 12:00 pm
Location: Stockton Masonic Lodge #283

Lunch and door prizes provided by the Masons.

This skills session will satisfy part two of the Missouri Hunter Education requirements. To enter the session, you must complete the knowledge portion and provide proof of completion by presenting either a qualifier certificate or a completed hunter education student manual the day of the event. All students must provide proof of identification and age. The final exam will be administered at the end of the skills session.

Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before the beginning of the class to complete registration; late arrivals will not be admitted so please arrive early. In the event of a cancellation, you will be contacted by email and/or phone. Note: Students 16 and older who have successfully completed the all-online Hunter Education course do not need to attend an in-person skills session.

The knowledge portion requirement can easily be achieved by reading and completing the chapter review questions in the Missouri hunter education manual and bringing the completed manual with you to a skills session you have registered to attend. To receive a FREE manual, please request one online at https://huntfish.mdc.mo.gov/hunting-trapping/hunter-education-skills-training/hunter-ed-study-guide-order-form or call 417-895-6880, M-F, 8am to 5pm to have one mailed to you. An online knowledge course option is also available; however, there is a charge for taking this portion online.

Registration period: September 22 - October 21
Date: Saturday, October 22, 2022 8:00 am - Saturday, October 22, 2022 12:00 pm
Location: Shoal Creek Conservation Education Center

This skills session will satisfy part two of the Missouri Hunter Education requirements. To enter the session, you must complete the knowledge portion and provide proof of completion by presenting either a qualifier certificate or a completed hunter education student manual the day of the event. All students must provide proof of identification and age. The final exam will be administered at the end of the skills session.

Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before the beginning of the class to complete registration; late arrivals will not be admitted so please arrive early. In the event of a cancellation, you will be contacted by email and/or phone. Note: Students 16 and older who have successfully completed the all-online Hunter Education course do not need to attend an in-person skills session.

COVID-19 continues to impact daily operations at all MDC facilities including hunter education classes. Protocols are now in place to provide safety for students and staff including:

• Only students seeking certification and staff are allowed in the classroom

• All staff are required to wear a facemask and practice social distancing

• All students are encouraged to wear a facemask and must practice social distancing

• All students will be asked to use hand sanitizer when arriving and prior to handling firearms

Everyone will be asked self-certification questions related to COVID-19. If you answer yes to any of the following self-certification questions, you should NOT attend.

• Do you, or a person you live with, have:

o A temperature of 100.4°F or higher, OR

o Two or more of the following: chills, new loss of taste or smell, or unexplained body aches, headache, or sore throat, OR

o One or more of the following: dry, non-productive cough (new onset or worsening of chronic cough), shortness of breath, or difficulty breathing?

• If you have traveled outside of Missouri, did you have contact with anyone known to have COVID-19 or visit an area with high incident of COVID-19?

• Have you come into contact with anyone who has been sick?

• In the last two weeks, did you care for or have close contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-19?

Please self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending the program and stay home if you are exhibiting symptoms.

We apologize for any inconvenience and are aware some people will have to travel farther than preferred to attend a skills session. Because of this, we encourage those 16 years or older to consider the online hunter education certification option which allows you to take the course online. There is a convenience fee of $19.95 for this online class. Please note all funds go to the web host and not MDC.

The knowledge portion requirement can easily be achieved by reading and completing the chapter review questions in the Missouri hunter education manual and bringing the completed manual with you to a skills session you have registered to attend. To receive a FREE manual, please request one online at https://huntfish.mdc.mo.gov/hunting-trapping/hunter-education-skills-training/hunter-ed-study-guide-order-form or call 417-895-6880, M-F, 8am to 5pm to have one mailed to you. An online knowledge course option is also available; however, there is a charge for taking this portion online.

All in-person classes are subject to cancelation or postponement due to COVID-19. So please plan to attend a session as soon as possible. If you have any questions, please contact the lead instructor listed for this session. Thank you.

15 students/COVID protocols

Registration period: September 6 - October 21
Date: Saturday, October 22, 2022 8:30 am - Saturday, October 22, 2022 12:30 pm
Location: Diggins Baptist Church

This is a public Missouri Hunter Education Skills Session class, participants must be 11 years of age the day of the event. (10/22/2022) Participants attending the skills session must show proof they have completed the online self study guide or complete all the chapter review questions in the Missouri Hunter Education book. Bring the completed review questions to the event!

Online Study Guide Link:

https://mdc.mo.gov/hunting-trapping/hunter-education/hunter-ed-study-guide-order-form
Registration period: September 9 - October 22
Date: Saturday, October 22, 2022 9:00 am - Saturday, October 22, 2022 2:30 pm
Location: Trenton Trap and Skeet Range

Participants will watch a brief presentation on shooting steel shot and effective wingshooting. Next we will go outside and work on crossing shotgun shots as well as patterning your gun. Bring your gun that you most hunt with and MDC will provide ammunition and clay birds. Bring your own shells to pattern or use the various brands that will be provided.

Dress for the weather, bring a bag chair for yourself, and your lunch. Drinks will be provided.
Registration period: October 1 - October 22
Date: Saturday, October 22, 2022 1:00 pm - Saturday, October 22, 2022 2:00 pm
Location: Runge Conservation Nature Center
Prepare for firearms deer season by learning about rifle bullets and cartridges that give you the best chance for a safe, humane harvest of Missouri's abundant large game animal. This program will help you determine which of the many options are appropriate for your hunting conditions and abilities. Learn about the variables to consider, as well as gain insight into the often puzzling terms and letters on the cartridge boxes.
Registration period: September 11 - October 11
Date: Sunday, October 23, 2022 5:00 am - Sunday, October 23, 2022 12:00 pm
Location: August A Busch Shooting Range
This program and hunt is for youth, who has never hunted, that is interested in learning the skills needed to successfully hunt ducks. We will begin with a mandatory clinic on Tuesday, October 11 from 5-7 p.m. to discuss safety, firearms, clothing, hunting techniques, and details of the hunt. All participants for the hunt must attend the mandatory online clinic and be Hunter Education Certified to participate in the hunt on October 23
Registration period: October 1 - October 21
Date: Tuesday, October 25, 2022 6:00 pm - Tuesday, October 25, 2022 7:30 pm
Location: Online only
For hunters who use firearms to harvest game, selecting an appropriate firearm and ammunition combination is essential. For new hunters, this can be daunting task. The purpose of this virtual program is to provide new hunters with the basic firearms knowledge they need to make an informed decision when purchasing a firearm. This class will cover the differences between rifles, handguns, and shotguns, as well as calibers, gauges, and different types of ammunition. We will discuss which firearms and ammunition are legal, ethical, and practical for different hunting activities.
Registration period: September 25 - October 15
Date: Saturday, October 29, 2022 8:00 am - Saturday, October 29, 2022 12:00 pm

YOUTH ONLY, ages 11-18

This is a two day class, that includes a mentored youth Chukar hunt on Sunday, October 30.

All supplies & firearms provided.

Please contact Jerri Lynn @ 816-309-8612, pre-registration REQUIRED. Class put on by Missouri Hunting Heritage Federation.
Registration period: September 14 - October 28
Date: Saturday, October 29, 2022 8:30 am - Saturday, October 29, 2022 11:30 am
Location: Andy Dalton Shooting Range

Learn the basics of hunting a whitetail deer. We will cover scouting, setup, taking the shot and much more.

Registration period: July 1 - October 1
Date: Saturday, November 5, 2022 8:00 am - Sunday, November 6, 2022 12:00 pm
Location: Lost Valley Hatchery
This hunt is designed for hunters who have archery hunted for deer in the past, but have been unsuccessful. To be eligible for this hunt you must not have previously filled an Archery Deer Permit .Beginning hunters are also welcome to apply. We can work with you help you gain the knowledge and experience you need. For more information contact Mark Miller. Email- mark.miller@mdc.mo.gov Phone 660-530-5500 This is the hunt listed on the MDC Managed Hunts page.