Conservation Commission


About Conservation Commissioners

Per the Constitution of Missouri, Section 40(a):

  • There are four members appointed by the governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, not more than two of whom shall be of the same political party.
  • They shall have knowledge of and interest in wildlife conservation.
  • They serve a term of six years beginning on the first day of July of consecutive odd years.
  • They receive no salary or other compensation, but get reimbursed for travel and other expenses.

What do Conservation Commissioners do?

  • Appoint the director of MDC.
  • Serve as MDC’s policy makers.
  • Approve Wildlife Code regulations.
  • Strategic planning.
  • Budget development and major expenditure decisions.
Current Conservation Commissioners
Steven D. Harrison

Independent — term expires July 1, 2025

Dr. Steven D. Harrison has lived an active outdoor life and enjoys a variety of hunting, fishing, and trapping experiences. He works to provide good habitat on his property and has a passion for helping the next generation learn to hunt and fish.

In his professional life, he is a dental specialist in orthodontics with Parkcrest Dental Group in Springfield. He also serves as associate clinical professor for the University of St. Louis’ Orthodontic Department, is a founding board member for Champions of Rolla Education, a consultant for the American Board of Orthodontics, and former president of the Edward H. Angle Society. He graduated summa cum laude from Missouri S&T with a bachelor’s degree in Life Sciences, graduated with distinction from the University of Missouri-Kansas City Dental School, and holds a Master of Science in Orthodontics from the University of Iowa in Iowa City.

Contact the Commissioner

Margy Eckelkamp

Republican — term expires July 1, 2027

Margaret F. (Margy) Eckelkamp is a communicator and journalist with an emphasis in agriculture and technology. She is the editor of The Scoop for the Farm Journal. Eckelkamp serves as a mentor and network member for AgLaunch, a technology accelerator, and for Missouri State University's Missouri Small Business Development Center.

She is a graduate of the University of Missouri at Columbia with a degree in agricultural journalism and a minor in agricultural economics. She is a member and past chair of the Griffiths Leadership Society for Women, has earned the Mid America Crop Life Association's Ruth White Media Award, and was selected as a Mizzou '39 recipient, which recognizes the top 39 MU students in their class.

Eckelkamp brings her personal passion for conservation, as well as her professional background in agriculture and communications, to help the Commission and MDC in the work we do. She lives in Washington, Mo., with her husband and two children.

Contact the Commissioner

Mark L. McHenry

Independent — term expires July 1, 2025

Mark L. McHenry grew up in central Iowa and spent many summers as a child roaming outdoors, which directly resulted in an entire career revolving around nature and conservation. He has more than 44 years of experience in the parks and recreation field, retiring from the City of Kansas City Parks and Recreation Department, where he served as director from 2003 to 2018.

He is currently a business consultant with Ochsner Hare & Hare, the Olsson Studio. McHenry also serves as a member of the National Recreation and Parks Association, American Academy for Park and Recreation Administration, Missouri Parks and Recreation Association, and the Southwest Parks and Recreation Training Institute. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Park Management from Texas Tech University and a Master of Public Administration from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Contact the Commissioner

Ray Wagner

Republican – term expires July 1, 2029

Raymond T. (Ray) Wagner Jr. has been an avid outdoorsman all his life, actively supporting conservation issues. He serves on the board of directors for the Missouri Conservation Heritage Foundation and is active with the Great River Habitat Alliance. He is a lifetime member of the National Rifle Association, Ducks Unlimited, and a member of Quail Forever and Pheasants Forever.

Wagner is a senior advisor in the Office of Missouri Attorney General Andrew Bailey. Previously, he was senior vice president of global government and public affairs for Enterprise Holdings, chief legal counsel to Missouri Governor John Ashcroft, the Missouri Director of Revenue, and an attorney in private practice.

Wagner holds a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Missouri–Kansas City, a Master of Laws degree from Washington University, and an MBA and Bachelor of Arts in political science from Saint Louis University. He was an adjunct professor of law at Washington University.

Contact the Commissioner