CWD Management Zone

CWD Management Zone

The CWD Management Zone consists of counties that have had a CWD-positive detection and those that are within 10 miles of a CWD-positive detection.

Special regulations apply in CWD Management Zone counties. For the 2024–2025 deer seasons, the CWD Management Zone includes Adair, Audrain, Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Boone, Caldwell, Camden, Carroll, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Crawford, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Grundy, Hickory, Howard, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Knox, Laclede, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Mercer, Monroe, Montgomery, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Randolph, Ray, Ripley, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Vernon, Warren, Washington, and Webster counties. 

New counties in the CWD Management Zone: Audrain, Boone, Cole, Dent, Douglas, Howard, Lewis, Maries, Monroe, Newton, Osage, Phelps, Randolph, Saline, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, and Webster.

The following regulations apply in the CWD Management Zone:

  • During Nov. 16-17, hunters who harvest a deer in designated CWD Management Zone counties (see mandatory CWD sampling map) must take the deer (or its head) on the day of harvest to a mandatory CWD sampling station.
  • The use of grain, salt products, minerals, and other consumable products used to attract deer is prohibited year-round in these counties.
  • Deer harvested from these counties must be reported through Telecheck before they can be removed from the county of harvest.
  • Carcass movement restrictions have been put in place in CWD Management Zone counties.

CWD Management Zone Map

2024 CWD Management Zone Counties