Department Details


Department Structure

The MDC director is appointed by the Conservation Commission. Three deputy directors serve under the MDC director. Each deputy director oversees one of three areas, each encompassing one of the department's main goals.


Resource Management contains these branches:

  • State and regional resource management (Fisheries, Forestry, Wildlife)
  • Protection (Enforces regulations) 
  • Science (Research to inform management decisions) 
  • Community and Private Land Conservation (Assistance to private landowners, cities, and municipalities)



Engagement contains these branches:

  • Policy and Governmental Affairs
  • Legislative and Agriculture Relations
  • Education (nature centers and public nature programs)
  • Communications (publications, website, marketing, news & media)
  • Relevancy (citizen engagement, event coordination, volunteers, recreational use)

Business contains these branches:

  • Conservation Business Services (permits & revenue, federal aid & grants, payables & payroll, equipment & purchasing)
  • Infrastructure Management
  • Information Technology
  • Human Resources
  • Budgeting and Finances

Centralized and Regional Leadership

The director, deputy directors, and branch leadership teams provide centralized leadership from the Conservation Headquarters in Jefferson City. MDC also has eight regional administrators who focus on delivering conservation and achieving department priorities at a local level. Within each region, biologists, foresters, land managers, conservation agents, educators, and administrators care for the land and wildlife and provide nature education and outdoor opportunities.


MDC Regions

Map of Missouri showing boundaries of regions as defined by MDC
  • Central
  • Kansas City
  • Northeast
  • Northwest
  • Ozarks
  • Southeast
  • Southwest
  • St. Louis