July 2020 Conservation Commission Action


The Missouri Conservation Commission met July 9 at MDC Headquarters in Jefferson City for a closed executive session followed by its regular open meeting. Commissioners attending were:

  • Don C. Bedell, Chair
  • Wm. L. (Barry) Orscheln, Vice Chair/Secretary
  • Steven D. Harrison, Member
  • Mark L. McHenry, Member


The Commission received the following presentations/reports:

  • Director’s Comments — Sara Parker Pauley, Director
  • Report of the Regulations Committee — Mike Hubbard, Deputy Director and Chair, Regulations Committee
  • Possible Changes to Class II Breeders Privileges and New Class III Wildlife Exhibitors Permit — Randy Doman, Protection Branch Chief
  • COVID-19: Potential Impacts to Wildlife — Sherri Russell, State Wildlife Veterinarian
  • Financial Report — Andrew Bond, Financial Services Chief
  • Major Construction Projects Status Report — Jacob Careaga, Design and Development Division Chief
  • Information Technology Projects Status Report — Douglas Fees, Information Technology Services Chief
  • Quarterly Permit Suspensions/Revocations Report — Catherine Lucia, Internal Auditor


The Commission:

  • Gave final approval for recommended changes to the Wildlife Code.
  • Approved the purchase of approximately 510.7 acres in St. Clair County as an addition to Linscomb Conservation Area.
  • Accepted the donation of approximately 120 acres in Shannon County as an addition to Angeline Conservation Area.
  • Suspended or revoked one or more hunting, fishing, or trapping privileges of 6 individuals for cause:
    1. Gary E. Beja, Hunting, 1 Year;
    2. David E. Fitzpatrick, All Sport, 1 Year;
    3. Jeff S. Hailey, All Sport, 1 Year;
    4. David E. Mollohan, Hunting, 14 Years;
    5. Tyler R. Nesbitt, Hunting, 1 Year; and
    6. Jeremy D. Waddell, Fishing, 1.5 years added to current suspension.
  • Elected the following Commission officers: Don C. Bedell, Chair; Wm. L. (Barry) Orscheln, Vice Chair; and Mark L. McHenry, Secretary.
  • Set the next regular meeting for September 3-4.