January 2021 Conservation Commission Action


The Missouri Conservation Commission met Jan. 21 for its closed executive session and met virtually Jan. 22 for its regular open meeting. Both days were held at Conservation Department Headquarters in Jefferson City. Commissioners attending (online) were:

  • Don C. Bedell, Chair
  • L. (Barry) Orscheln, Vice Chair
  • Mark L. McHenry, Secretary
  • Steven D. Harrison, Member


The Commission received the following presentations/reports:

  • Director’s Comments — Sara Parker Pauley, Director
  • Public Trust Doctrine — Chris Smith, Wildlife Management Institute
  • Report of the Regulations Committee — Mike Hubbard, Deputy Director and Chair, Regulations Committee
  • Ginseng — Malissa Briggler, Scientist
  • Length Limit of Blue & Flathead Catfish on Mark Twain Lake — Ross Dames, Fisheries Management Biologist
  • Fiscal Year 2021 Mid-Year Review of Revenue and Expenditure Trends — Andrew Bond, Chief Financial Officer
  • Fiscal Year 2021 Mid-Year Review of Major Construction Projects and Major Construction Projects Status Report — Jacob Careaga, Infrastructure Branch Chief
  • Fiscal Year 2021 Mid-Year Review of Information Technology Projects — Douglas Fees, IT Branch Chief


The Commission:

  • Approved regulation changes, including ones related to bicycle use on MDC areas, peregrine falcon delisting, common and grass carp changes, and CWD management changes related to permit availability and commercial game processing.
  • Approved the exchange of approximately 25 acres of Canaan Conservation Area in Gasconade County for 15 acres as an addition to Canaan Conservation Area, together with compensation for the difference in the amount of acreage being exchanged.
  • Approved the exchange of approximately 1.64 acres of Capps Creek Conservation Area in Newton County for two tracts consisting of approximately 4 acres and 3.6 acres, respectively, as an addition to Capps Creek Conservation Area.
  • Suspended or revoked one or more hunting, fishing, trapping, or other privileges of 16 individuals for cause:
    1. Dennis K. Beavers, Mercer, Fishing, 3 Years;
    2. Paul D. Gordon, Bolivar, All Sport, 1 Year;
    3. Daniel J. Kluver, St. Joseph, All Sport, 1 Year;
    4. Vitaliy V. Kovalev, Richboro (PA), Fishing, 1 Year;
    5. Eric M. Nunnery, Kennett, All Sport, 1 Year;
    6. Clayton J. Ott, Crystal City, Hunting; 3 Years;
    7. Joseph Randazzo, Smithville, Fishing; 1 Year;
    8. Tyler K. Reid, Shreveport (LA), Hunting, 1 Year;
    9. Rhyen K. Romines, Licking, Hunting, 2 Years;
    10. Darren L. Roney, Middle Brook, All Sport, 1 Year;
    11. Charles R. Swofford, III, Poplar Bluff, All Sport, 1 Year;
    12. Brandon L. Taylor, Boonville, All Sport, 1 Year;
    13. Brett T. Whitsitt, Lewistown (IL), Commercial Fishing, 3 Years;
    14. Kevin L. Todd, Hannibal, Hunting, Revoked until 12/3/21;
    15. Jacob Wideman, Pevely, All Sport, Revoked until 8/27/21; and
    16. Rodney Owen, Blue Springs, Hunting & Trapping; Revoked until 11/4/24.
  • Authorized the suspension or revocation of privileges of 1,784 individuals from Oct. 1, 2020 to Dec. 31, 2020 in accordance with the terms of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact.
  • With the decision from Division of Child Support Enforcement, Department of Social Services to stop the suspension of all hunting and fishing privileges for individuals who are not in compliance with applicable child support laws during the COVID-19 Pandemic, there were no suspensions from Oct. 1, 2020 to Dec. 31, 2020.
  • Set the next regular meeting for March 26, 2021.