October 2010 Conservation Action

News from the region
Published Date

The Conservation Commission met Oct. 14 and 15 at the Conservation Department’s regional office in Kirksville. Commissioners present were:

  • Becky L. Plattner, Grand Pass, Chair
  • Don R. Johnson, Festus, Vice Chair
  • Don C. Bedell, Sikeston, Secretary
  • William F. “Chip” McGeehan, Marshfield, Member

The Commission

  • Received a presentation from Wildlife Diversity Chief Gene Gardner concerning “Partnerships in Action: A Decade of State Wildlife Grants and Conserving All Wildlife in Missouri.”
  • Received a presentation from Resource Scientist Lonnie Hansen regarding a proposed plan for restoring elk to Missouri.
  • Received comments regarding potential elk restoration from individuals who submitted written requests prior to the meeting.
  • Voted to approve the proposed elk-restoration plan. The plan (available at www.missouriconservation.org) calls for releasing up to 150 elk into a 346-square-mile area of Shannon, Carter and Reynolds counties early in 2011. All released elk will undergo stringent health testing and quarantines and will be fitted with radio collars to permit tracking their movements.
  • Approved entering into a contract with AVCO, Inc., Hamilton, for the construction of the Blind Pony Lake Conservation Area Equipment Storage and Work Area building in Saline county at a total estimated cost of $301,895.
  • Approved recommendations for the Conservation Employees’ Benefits Plan Trust Fund.
  • Approved the purchase of 161.51 acres in Pettis County as an addition to W. R. Kearn Memorial Conservation Area.
  • Suspended hunting and/or fishing privileges of 15 Missouri residents and two nonresidents for Wildlife Code violations and affirmed actions taken by Missouri courts suspending privileges of one Missouri resident. Those whose privileges were suspended are:
    • John J. Anesi, Kirksville, all sport privileges, 1 year.
    • Richard B. Berghager, Center, all sport privileges, 1.5 additional years.
    • Collin S. Burns, Lebanon, all sport privileges, 3 months.
    • Seth E. Burns, Stoutland, all sport privileges, 1 year.
    • Maria J. Burton, Jadwin, all sport privileges, 5 years.
    • David A. Chandler, Belleview, all sport privileges, 1 year.
    • Jessica C. Gamblin, Montreal, hunting privileges, until 6/22/11.
    • Travis A. Gott, Elkland, hunting privileges, 6 months.
    • Randy C. Gresham, Jr., Rolla, all sport privileges, 5 years.
    • Derek R. Johnson, Galva, Ill., all sport privileges, 1 year.
    • Dustin J. Jones, Jonesburg, all sport privileges, 1 year.
    • David W. Kilroy, Longwood, Fla., all sport privileges, 1 year.
    • Travis L. King, Winigan, all sport privileges, 1 year
    • Brandon M. Lennox, New London, all sport privileges, 2.5 years.
    • John C. McDonald, Salem, all sport privileges, 2 additional years.
    • Byran M. Ruth, Grandview, all sport privileges, 1 year.
    • John L. Shepherd, Hannibal, all sport privileges, 5.5 additional years.
    • Bradley A. Wilson, Lowry City, all sport privileges, 1 year.
  • Approved the suspension or revocation of all hunting and fishing privileges of 318 people who are not in compliance with applicable child support laws.
  • Suspended privileges of 193 nonresidents and two Missouri residents under the provisions of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact.
  • Imposed hunting privilege suspension of four years for a Missouri resident who injured another person in a hunting incident. The hunter must complete a hunter-education training course before restoration of privileges.
  • Confirmed the next regular Conservation Commission meeting to be held Dec. 16 and 17 in Jefferson City.

- end -

This document is provided for public information only and is not an official record of the Missouri Department of Conservation or Missouri Conservation Commission.