September 2023 Conservation Commission Action


The Missouri Conservation Commission met Sept. 8 for a budget and regulations pipeline workshop followed by a closed executive session and its regular open meeting. All were held at Commission Headquarters, 2901 W. Truman Blvd. in Jefferson City. Commissioners attending the open meeting in person or online were:

  • Steven D. Harrison, Chair
  • Margaret F. (Margy) Eckelkamp, Vice Chair
  • Mark L. McHenry, Secretary
  • L. (Barry) Orscheln, Member


The Commission received the following presentations/reports:

  • Director’s Comments — Sara Parker Pauley, Director
  • Report of the Regulations Committee — Jason Sumners, Deputy Director and Chair, Regulations Committee
  • Deer Management Assistance Program — Kevyn Wiskirchen, Private Lands Deer Biologist
  • Financial Report — Andrew Bond, Chief Financial Officer
  • FY23 Year-End Report of Major Construction Projects Completed — Jacob Careaga, Infrastructure Management Branch Chief
  • Proposed policy on Information Technology’s Data Governance — Doug Fees, Information Technology Branch Chief
  • MDC’s Cybersecurity Program Update — Jimmey Fawcett, IT Security Architect


The Commission:

  • Approved recommendations for changes from the mid-year Wildlife Code review and orders of rulemaking to finalize changes initially approved during the May 19 Commission meeting.
  • Approved the recommendation for approval to submit estimated Fiscal Year 2025 appropriation requests to the Office of Administration budget director pursuant to Section 33.220 RSMo.
  • Approved the Department Fleet Management policy.
  • Approved MDC recommendation for approval to suspend or revoke one or more hunting, fishing, or trapping privileges of 10 individuals for cause:
    1. Matthew P. Barton, Jefferson City, All Sport, 1 Year;
    2. Brandon A. Burroughs, Ashland, Hunting, 1 Year;
    3. Nicholas W. Buttram, Mountain Grove, Hunting, Add 1 Year to current revocation;
    4. Jeffrey R. Farris, Olean, All Sport, Add 2 Years to current revocation;
    5. Daniel C. Halverson, Milo, All Sport, 3 Years;
    6. Ku D. Moo, Omaha (NE), Hunting, 1 Year;
    7. Gavin S. Pobst, Sikeston, Hunting, 5 Years;
    8. Donald E. Potter, Springfield, Hunting and Fishing, 1 Year;
    9. Adam E. Braddy, Piedmont, Hunting, Revoked until 5/3/2028; and
    10. Dalton W. Roark, Annapolis, Hunting, Revoked until 5/3/20