January 2020 Conservation Commission Action


The Missouri Conservation Commission met at Conservation Department Headquarters, 2901 W. Truman Blvd. in Jefferson City, on Jan. 28 for a workshop and closed executive session followed by its January regular open meeting. Commissioners present were:

  • Don C. Bedell, Chair
  • Wm. L. (Barry) Orscheln, Vice Chair/Secretary
  • Steven D. Harrison, Member
  • Mark L. McHenry, Member


The Commission received the following presentations/reports:

  • Director’s Comments -- Sara Parker Pauley, Director
  • Landowner Registry Update -- Nathan Bess, Permit Services Supervisor
  • Report of the Regulations Committee -- Mike Hubbard, Deputy Director and Chair, Regulations Committee
  • Commercial Use of Public Land -- Mike Schroer, Wildlife Management Chief
  • Fiscal Year 2020 Mid-Year Review of Revenue and Expenditure Trends -- Andrew Bond, Financial Services Chief
  • Fiscal Year 2020 Mid-Year Review of Major Construction Projects -- Jacob Careaga, Design and Development Division Chief
  • Fiscal Year 2020 Mid-Year Review of Information Technology Projects -- Ritchie Jenkins, IT Business Development Manager


The Commission:

  • Gave initial approval of various changes to the Wildlife Code based on recommendations identified during the Regulations Committee’s annual Code Notable changes would allow for the incidental take of feral hogs on MDC areas during deer and turkey hunting seasons, clarify methods allowed to take wildlife by defining handguns, establish a new permit and regulations related to coyotes and foxes taken and held alive, prohibit the harvest of alligator gar, establish a new permit and regulations to allow utilization of fish taken during bona fide tournaments or department-sponsored invasive fish removal projects, remove fishing restrictions on the red ribbon portion of Roubidoux Creek, and eliminate specific requirements for quail hunting on certain conservation areas. MDC is accepting public comment on these changes until May 1 at https://short.mdc.mo.gov/Z49. The Commission will consider input received and conduct a final vote on the recommendations at its May meeting.
  • Approved the purchase of approximately 107 acres in Iron County as an addition to Ketcherside Mountain Conservation Area.
  • Approved the nominations of Jeff Churan and Tom and Cathy Aley for recognition as Master Conservationists.
  • Approved revisions to Bylaws of the Missouri Conservation Commission.
  • Suspended or revoked one or more hunting, fishing, or trapping privileges of 12 individuals for cause:
    1. Billy B. Bales, Picayune (MS), Hunting, 1 Year;
    2. Andrew M. Edwards, Independence, All Sport, 1 Year;
    3. Marcos E. Ek, Sparta, Hunting, 3 Years;
    4. James R. Harp, Berryville (AR), All Sport, 1 Year;
    5. Ezra A. Hunter, Elsberry, Hunting, 1 Year;
    6. Kyle J. King, Whitewater, Hunting, 1 Year;
    7. Ngun M. Lian, Springfield, Fishing, 1 Year;
    8. Brandon D. Watson, Kirksville, Hunting, 1 Year;
    9. Steven R. Weeks, Smithville, Taxidermy, 1 Year;
    10. David E. Mollohan, Mountain Grove, Hunting and Fishing, Revoked until 12/12/2020;
    11. Mandell L. Daniels, Blue Spring, All Sport, Recommended suspension/revocation until compliance with issuing state citation; and
    12. Rachael Jones, Independence, All Sport, Recommended suspension/revocation until compliance with issuing state citation.
  • Suspended or revoked all hunting and fishing privileges of 159 individuals who are not in compliance with applicable child support laws.
  • Suspended or revoked one or more hunting, fishing, and trapping privileges of 145 individuals in accordance with the terms of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact.
  • Amended suspension of hunting privileges of one individual from two years to one year.
  • Reinstated hunting privileges for one individual and reinstated hunting and fishing privileges for one individual.
  • Set the next regular meeting for April 8-9.