December 2020 Conservation Commission Action


The Missouri Conservation Commission met Dec. 10 for a workshop followed by its closed executive session and met virtually Dec. 11 for its regular open meeting. Both days were held at Conservation Department Headquarters in Jefferson City. Commissioners attending (online) were:

  1. Don C. Bedell, Chair
  2. L. (Barry) Orscheln, Vice Chair
  3. Mark L. McHenry, Secretary
  4. Steven D. Harrison, Member


The Commission received the following presentations/reports:

  • Director’s Comments -- Sara Parker Pauley, Director
  • Report of the Regulations Committee -- Mike Hubbard, Deputy Director and Chair, Regulations Committee
  • Proposed Amendments to Chapter 9 of the Wildlife Code of Missouri covering Confined Wildlife: Privileges, Permits, Standards - Jason Sumners, Science Branch Chief
  • MOSERS Investment Review - Ronda Stegmann, Executive Director
  • Financial Report - Andrew Bond, Chief Financial Officer
  • Major Construction Projects Status Report - Jacob Careaga, Infrastructure Branch Chief


The Commission:

  • Gave final approval to MDC recommendations that establish a hunting framework for a future Missouri bear season.
  • Set season dates for each portion of the 2021-2022 firearms deer hunting season.
  • Approved MDC 2021 Missouri wild turkey hunting regulation recommendations.
  • Approved the exchange of approximately 160 acres of Clearwater Conservation Area in Reynolds County for two tracts consisting of 200 acres and 20 acres, respectively, as an addition to Logan Creek Conservation Area in Reynolds County.
  • Approved the sales of an estimated 707,016 board feet of timber located on 415 acres of Compartment 30, Angeline Conservation Area in Shannon County.
  • Approved the Conservation Employees’ Benefits Plan update and recommendation to appoint a new staff representative to the Board of Trustees for a three-year term.
  • Suspended or revoked one or more hunting, fishing, trapping, or other privileges of nine individuals for cause:
    • Matthew J. Clark, Sikeston, Hunting, 1 Year;
    • Bradley M. Deeken, Dixon, All Sport, 1 Year;
    • Lance E. Gauch, Hannibal, Hunting, 2 Years;
    • Darrell W. Hickem, Columbia, All Sport, 1 Year;
    • Jacob D. Hodges, Jefferson City, All Sport, 1 Year;
    • Eric L. Nesbitt, Columbia, All Sport, 1 Year;
    • Kurt A. Ritchie, Savannah, Hunting, 1 Year;
    • Joshua A. Sartin, Columbia, All Sport, 1 Year; and
    • Michael A. Hennis, Imperial, Hunting, Revoked Until 9/24/2022.
  • Set the next regular meeting for Jan. 21-22, 2021.

This document is provided for public information only and is not an official record of the Missouri Department of Conservation or Missouri Conservation Commission.

View recordings of open Commission meetings at