April 2024 Conservation Commission Action


The Missouri Conservation Commission met April 4 for a closed executive session followed by a workshop at the Hasselmann Alumni House, 1100 N. Pine St. in Rolla. The Commission met April 5 for its regular open meeting at the Hasselmann Alumni House. Commissioners attending the open meeting in person or online were:

  • Steven D. Harrison, Chair
  • Margaret F. (Margy) Eckelkamp, Vice Chair
  • Mark L. McHenry, Secretary
  • Raymond T. (Ray) Wagner Jr., Member


The Commission received the following presentations/reports:

  • Director’s Comments — Sara Parker Pauley, Director
  • Report of the Regulations Committee – Jason Sumners, Deputy Director and Chair, Regulations Committee
  • Recommendations for 2024 elk season quotas — Aaron Hildreth, Cervid Biologist
  • Recommendations for 2024 dove season dates and limits; and 2024-25 migratory bird season dates and limits — Charles Anderson, Game and Regulations Unit Supervisor
  • Financial Report — Andrew Bond, Interim Deputy Director - Business
  • Major Construction Projects Status Report — Jacob Careaga, Infrastructure Management Branch Chief


The Commission:

  • Approved recommendations for 2024 black bear season quotas.
  • Approved recommendations for 2024 elk season quotas.
  • Approved recommendations for 2024 dove season dates and limits and for 2024-25 migratory bird season dates and limits.
  • Approved consideration of bids for the construction of the Anita B. Gorman Conservation Discovery Center Entrance Canopy Replacement project located in Kansas City.
  • Approved consideration of bids for the construction of the Springfield Conservation Nature Center Roof Replacement located in Springfield.
  • Approved the advertisement and sale of an estimated 1,070,604 board feet of timber located on 365 acres of Compartment 20, Rocky Creek Conservation Area in Shannon County.
  • Approved consideration of nominations of individuals for recognition as Master Conservationists.
  • Approved the suspension or revocation of one or more hunting, fishing, or trapping privileges of 18 individuals for cause:
    1. Kyle C. Bampton, Wentzville, Hunting, 1 Year;
    2. Christopher R. Boucher, Warsaw, Fishing, 1 Year;
    3. Justin K. Burns, Lebanon, Hunting and Fishing, 2 Years;
    4. Jeffrey T. Clayton, Louisiana, All Sport, 2 Years and cannot register to sell ginseng while revoked;
    5. Chris G. Cooney, Aurora, Hunting, 6 Years;
    6. David L. Eastin, Chillicothe, All Sport, 2 Years;
    7. Justin L. Hostetler, Osceola, All Sport, 1 Year;
    8. Kyle S. Keene, Halfway, All Sport, 2 Years;
    9. Roy L. Lynch, Elsberry, Hunting, 1 Year;
    10. Johnathan K. Schmidt, Aurora, All Sport, 2 Years;
    11. Elijah R. Smith, Warsaw, Hunting, 1 Year;
    12. Ryan Tandy, Joplin, All Sport, 2 Years;
    13. Zachary B. Vader, Urbana, Hunting, 1 Year;
    14. Desiree N. Weekley, Louisiana, All Sport, 1 Year;
    15. Wyatt B. Williams, East Prairie, Hunting, 1 Year;
    16. Jadon D. Wipf, Bolivar, Hunting, 1 Year;
    17. Shenghua Yu, St. Robert, Fishing, 2 Years; and
    18. Nathan D. Sullivan, Higbee, Hunting revoked until 2/28/2025.
  • Approved the suspension of hunting privileges and completion of a hunter education training course no sooner than six months prior to restoration of privileges for the following 4 individuals who inflicted injury to another person by firearm while hunting:
    1. Leonard J. Gray, Lexington, 2 Years and complete Hunter Education;
    2. Jody W. Qualls, Tipton, 3 Years and complete Hunter Education;
    3. JUVENILE, Lexington, 1 Year and complete Hunter Education; and
    4. JUVENILE, Blytheville (AR), 1 Year and complete Hunter Education.
  • Set the next open meeting for May 24.