Fishing Permit Information

Free general fishing for warriors in transition

If you are a member of the U.S. military currently assigned as a patient to a Warrior Transition Brigade, Warrior Transition Unit, or a military medical center, you now may take fish, live bait, clams, mussels, turtles, and frogs without permit. However, you still need a trout permit or daily tag in areas where prescribed. (You must carry orders showing assignment to a Warrior Transition Brigade or Warrior Transition Unit, or carry admission verification to a military medical center.)

Who needs a permit ...

Everyone who fishes must have the appropriate lifetime, annual, or daily fishing permit or qualify for an exemption.

And who doesn't ...

The following do NOT need a lifetime, annual, or daily fishing permit, but they must purchase a daily trout fishing tag or trout permit when or where required:

  • Any Missouri resident landowner and resident lessee of land, and all members of their immediate households, when fishing on the land they own or on which they lease and reside
  • Any Missouri resident (whether or not meeting the definition of a landowner) who owns land that completely encloses a body of water, or any member of his or her immediate household, when fishing in those waters
  • Any Missouri resident 65 years of age or older
  • Any person (resident or nonresident) 15 years of age or younger. Note: Youngsters fishing without a permit are limited to the following methods: pole and line, gig, bow, crossbow, snaring, grabbing, and snagging.
  • Any Missouri resident with a visual acuity not exceeding 20/200 in the better eye with maximum correction, or having 20 degree or less field of visual concentric contraction. Must carry a certified statement of eligibility from a licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or physician
  • Any Missouri resident who is so severely and permanently disabled as to be unable to move freely without the aid of a wheelchair. Must carry a certified statement of eligibility from a licensed physician
  • Any Missouri resident with cerebral palsy or mental retardation as defined in Missouri Revised Statutes, section 630.005, and who is so severely disabled that he or she cannot fish alone. Must be accompanied by a licensed adult angler and possess a certified statement of eligibility from a licensed physician qualified to evaluate and treat the developmentally disabled
  • Any resident or nonresident who is an honorably discharged veteran who has a service-related disability of 60 percent or greater, or who was a prisoner of war during military service. Must carry a certified statement of eligibility from the Veterans Administration

Free Fishing Days

Any person—without permit or prescribed area daily fishing tag—may fish during Free Fishing Days. Also, a fishing permit is not required to fish privately stocked waters. On private licensed trout fishing areas, customers and guests may fish for trout without a permit.

Permit Obligations

Accepting a permit means that you:

  • Agree to observe all the rules of the Wildlife Code of Missouri
  • Will not lend your permit to another
  • Will allow inspection of your permit, picture identification, catch, and equipment by an agent of the Conservation Department
  • Will carry your permit while fishing. If you ordered your permit by telephone or on the Internet and have not received it by mail, you must carry the permit authorization number and picture identification with you while fishing until your permit arrives.

Key Messages: 

We work with you and for you to sustain healthy forests, fish and wildlife.

Content tagged with

Shortened URL
http://mdc.mo.gov/node/5006