MDC offers TRIM grants for community forest improvements

This content is archived

White Oak

Published on: Apr. 22, 2011

JEFFERSON CITY Mo – The Missouri Department of Conservation (MDC) is offering grants to assist with the management, improvement and/or conservation of community trees and forests. These Tree Resource Improvement and Maintenance (TRIM) cost-share grants can help communities fund tree inventories, removal or pruning of hazardous trees, tree planting and the training of volunteers and city/county employees to best care for community forests.

TRIM is a competitive cost-share tree-care program administered by the MDC in cooperation with the Missouri Community Forest Council and United States Forest Service. The program provides reimbursement of $1,000 to $10,000 to assist government agencies, public schools and non-profit groups with the management, improvement or conservation of trees and forests on public land.

TRIM applicants must submit a completed application form by June 1 that details project costs and funding sources, maps and drawings of the project site, a three-year maintenance plan for the project and a letter of approval from the governmental body owning the proposed project site.

A panel of judges selects projects for funding on a competitive basis. Proposals are assessed for their value to the community, thoroughness as a tree-management program and the ability to promote, improve and develop a community's urban forest and economic feasibility. Grant recipients can receive up to 60 percent of the money needed for their projects. Projects located in communities with The National Arbor Day Foundation’s Tree City USA designation are eligible for an additional 15 percent in matching funds.

MDC will hold a TRIM workshop for the central region on Wednesday, May 4, 9-11 a.m. at the MDC Central Regional Office in Columbia, 1907 Hillcrest Drive. Registration is required. Contact MDC Urban Forester Ann Koenig at ann.koenig@mdc.mo.gov or by calling 573-882-8388 x227.

MDC will hold a TRIM workshop for the St. Louis region on Thursday, May 5, 6-8 p.m. at the MDC Powder Valley Conservation Nature Center in Kirkwood, 11715 Craigwold Road. Registration is required. Contact MDC Urban Forester Perry Eckhardt at perry.eckhardt@mdc.mo.gov or by calling 314-301-1506 x2236, or MDC Urban Forester Mark Grueber at mark.grueber@mdc.mo.gov or by calling 636-300-1953 x248.

MDC will hold a TRIM workshop for the southeast region on Thursday, May 5, 10 a.m. – noon at the MDC Southwest Regional Office in Springfield, 2630 N. Mayfair. Registration is required. Contact MDC Urban Forester Cindy Garner at cindy.garner@mdc.mo.gov or by calling 417-895-6880.

For TRIM grant information for the Kansas City area, contact MDC Urban Forester Chuck Conner at charles.conner@mdc.mo.gov or 816-655-6250, x250.

For TRIM grant information in the Joplin area, contact MDC Urban Forester Jon Skinner at jon.skinner@mdc.mo.gov or 417-629-3423.

For TRIM grant information for the Hannibal area, call MDC Resource Forester David Vance at david.vance@mdc.mo.gov or 573-248-2530.

For TRIM grant information for the northeast region of Missouri, contact MDC Resource Forester Yvette Amerman at yvette.amerman@mdc.mo.gov or 660-785-2424.

For more information on TRIM, including the grant application and a helpful workbook, visit http://tinyurl.com/3tw8nfs

Shortened URL
http://mdc.mo.gov/node/12771