Conservation Action July 2014

The Conservation Commission met July 10 and 11 at the Anita B. Gorman Conservation Discovery Center in Kansas City. Commissioners present were:

  • Don C. Bedell, Sikeston, Chair
  • James T. Blair, IV, St. Louis, Vice Chair/Secretary
  • Marilynn J. Bradford, Jefferson City, Member
  • David W. Murphy, Columbia, Member


The Commission:

  • Received staff presentations from:
    • Survey Coordinator Ron Reitz, regarding understanding public input.
    • Resource Scientist Jason Sumners regarding updated the Commission regarding activities associated with the 10-year deer management plan.
    • Employee Relations Manager Debra Thompson, regarding investing today for tomorrow's workforce.
    • Public Involvement Coordinator Amy Buechler, regarding area planning public input.
    • Policy Coordinator Janet Sternburg, with an update on wildlife considerations related to alternative energy.
  • Received comments from Scott Cason, Fayette, regarding Asian carp.
  • Approved staff recommendations for:
    • The purchase of 7 acres in Lewis County as an addition to Deer Ridge Conservation Area (CA).
    • The purchase of 41.9 acres in Morgan County as an addition to Lamine River CA.
    • Responses to certain resolutions adopted by the Conservation Federation of Missouri at its March 2014 annual meeting.
    • Suspending hunting, fishing and/or trapping privileges of 14 Missouri residents for Wildlife Code violations. Those whose privileges were suspended are:
      • Patrick A. Ball, Warsaw, hunting, 1 year
      • Quentin B. Bassett, Ludlow, hunting, 5 years
      • Bradley R. Chamberlain, Osceola, hunting, 3 years
      • Joshua E. Clover, Piedmont, hunting, until May 29, 2015
      • Trevor M. Corbin, Braymer, hunting and trapping, 1 year
      • Phillip M. Covington, Lake Ozark, all sport privileges, 1 year
      • Jason C. Estep, Hannibal, hunting and trapping, 2 years
      • Christopher L. Hutchens, Granby, all sport privileges, 1 year
      • James E. Lewis, Licking, all sport privileges, 1 year
      • Shannon N. Midkiff, Lathrop, all sport privileges, 1 year
      • Shane A. Stewart, Mansfield, all sport privileges, 1 additional year
      • Jason H. Sutton, East Prairie, hunting, 1 year
      • Paul Teel, Jr., Bucklin, hunting, 5 years
      • Michael A. Terrill, Summersville, hunting, 3 years
    • Suspending or revoking all hunting and fishing privileges of 158 people who are not in compliance with applicable child-support laws. Privileges suspended for noncompliance are reinstated once the Division of Child Support Enforcement notifies MDC that suspendees have come into compliance with the required laws.
    • Suspended privileges of 163 people under the provisions of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact.
    • Set its next regular meeting for Aug. 21 and 22.
    • Elected the following officers:
      • James T. Blair, IV, Chairman
      • David W. Murphy, Vice Chairman
      • Marilynn J. Bradford, Secretary
      • Don C. Bedell, Member

This document is provided for public information only and is not an official record of the Missouri Department of Conservation or Missouri Conservation Commission.

Key Messages: 

Conservation makes Missouri a great place to hunt and fish.

Content tagged with

Shortened URL